2023 TATA IPL T20 – Team Rajasthan Royals

2023 TATA IPL T20 – Team Rajasthan Royals, franchise, RR team, Sanju Samson, victory, matches, game plan

Welcome back, today we are going to see another team which created history by winning the first IPL title in the year 2008, the Rajasthan Royals(RR) under the captaincy of the late legendary leg spinner Shane Warne.

About the Franchise:

Rajasthan Royals (RR) is a franchise cricket team based out of Jaipur, Rajasthan in the IPL. Emerging Media gained ownership of the Jaipur-based Rajasthan Royals team with a bid of $67 million, making it the least expensive team in the league. The franchise was founded in the year 2008, they were one of the eight teams that competed in the 2008 Indian Premier League.

Rajasthan Royal’s suspension from IPL:

RR Franchise was suspended in the year 2016 and 2017 based on the verdict in 2015 reached by a panel appointed by the Supreme Court of India, both the teams Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings were suspended for two years over a 2013 betting scandal. However, destiny had other plans and again both the teams RR and CSK returned to the competition for the 2018 season.

Victory lap of RR:

The team won the inaugural edition of 2008  IPL T20 under the captaincy of Shane Warne and qualified for the Champions League T20.

The all-rounder Shane Watson won the man of the tournament award for scoring 472 runs and taking 17 wickets. Shane Warne’s captaincy were the talk of the town and appreciated by all the cricketing lovers across the world.

Each player and representative in the team was awarded a medal. The team was presented with the DLF Indian Premier League trophy along with a cheque for US$1.2 million prize money. Yusuf Pathan claimed the Man of the Match award for the final match. Sohail Tanvir finished the tournament by winning the Purple Cap (for the IPL’s leading wicket-taker), and Australian all-rounder Shane Watson was declared the Man of the Series.

The Royals were also the runners-up of the 2013 Champions League T20 under Rahul Dravid’s captaincy.

In 2022 Rajasthan Royals team  under the captaincy of Sanju Samson team played really well to finish as Runners up in the season.

Home ground: Sawai Mansingh Stadium

The home venue of the Rajasthan Royals is the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur, Rajasthan. The stadium capacity is 30,000 seats approximately and is one of the best in India, and it has undergone a major renovation in the year 2006.

The Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur once again started to host the RR’s home games from the 2018 IPL season onwards after their return from a two-year suspension (2016 and 2017) which also saw the stadium being banned from hosting matches for four years.

RR’s Captain – Sanju Samson:

After winning the inaugural season of IPL, Rajasthan Royals squad roped in Sanju Samson as captain in the year 2021. The team captain Steve Smith was released by the Franchise ahead of the auction held for 2021 IPL.

In 2022, Rajasthan Royals’ Captain Sanju Samson took the team to the playoffs and won runners up. After doing well in the league stage and finishing second in the points table, the team lost twice to Gujarat Titans within the span of six days, first in Qualifier 1 and then in the final to finish as runners up.

Jos Buttler earned the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award, as well as the Orange Cap with a tally of 864 runs in 17 innings, while Yuzvendra Chahal won the Purple Cap for taking the most wickets in the season.

2023 IPL Season and its expectations:

Rajasthan Royals (RR) squad will play its first match in the IPL season 2023 against Sun Risers Hyderabad  (SRH)  squad on 2nd Apr 2023 at 3.30pm IST in the home ground of SRH, Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium Tickets can be bought from Bookmyshow

Latest News:

Rajasthan Royals has unveiled their new jersey for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 on Tuesday, March 21, 2023. It has been named as the ‘Pink of 2023’. Luminous is the title sponsor of RR for this year IPL 2023.

Coach: Kumar Sangakkara, the former Sri Lankan legend and wicket keeper batsman.

IPL T20 2023 Rajasthan Royals First match:

In the first match of TATA IPL 2023, Rajasthan Royals (RR) will face Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad at 3.30pm IST on Apr 2nd , 2023.

IPL T20 RR Merchandise:

The official theme of the team is #Halla Bol and RR reperesenting the “Pink City” Jaipur and pink is their official color. Fans of RR can cheer their team by wearing the RR merchandise.

Social Handles of Rajasthan Royals:

Official website: https://www.rajasthanroyals.com/

Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/RajasthanRoyals/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/rajasthanrovals/?hl=en

Twitter: https://twitter.com/rajasthanroyals

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkpgyRmcNy-aZFLUkKkWK4w

R Shop: https://www.rajasthanroyals.com/shop

Tags: #Halla Bol

In Summary, everyone’s eyes and ears are eagerly waiting for the start of the new IPL season, which kicks off on March 31. The Rajasthan Royals (RR), who won the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008, will be eager to improve on their runner-up finish from IPL 2022. It has the potential to win the championship title, the key element of their success has been their solid batting lineup, the most notable for this year are Jos Buttler and Sanju Samson.

We wish all the best for the Rajasthan Royals to have a wonderful season this year.

You may be interested to read about:

2023 TATA IPL T20 – Team Chennai Super Kings

TATA IPL T20 – Squad Mumbai Indians 2023

TATA IPL T20 – Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore(RCB) 2023

TATA IPL T20 – Squad Kolkata Knight Riders(KKR) 2023


Who is the highest run scorer in IPL for RR?

Sanju Samson bagged most runs in IPL for Rajasthan Royals posing a total of 2849 runs In 110 Matches

Who is the highest wicket taker in IPL for RR?

Shane Watson holds the record for highest wicket taker in IPL for RR bagging 67 wickets to his kitty.  

Which is the highest total posted by RR in IPL?

Rajasthan Royals Highest Team Score In IPL is 223/5 against Chennai Super Kings at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai in 2010

Leave a Comment