2023 TATA IPLT20 @Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai –what teams can expect?

2023 TATA IPL T20 Wankhede Stadium Mumbai, pitch report, match schedules, tickets, records, mumbai indians, sachin

2023 TATA IPL T20 Wankhede Stadium Mumbai, pitch report, match schedules, tickets, historic records, mumbai indians, sachin tendulakr, rohit sharma
2023 TATA IPLT20 Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, home team Mumbai Indians

Mumbai is known as the “Cricket Capital of India” and Wankhede Stadium is an international cricket stadium in Mumbai which has produced many of our all time favourite cricketers like Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri, Rohit Sharma and a long list of players.  Established in 1974 Wankhede is relatively younger than old grounds like Chepauk in Chennai, Eden Gardens in Kolkata and Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi.

Wankhede Stadium with a seating capacity of 33,000+ has been host to numerous high-profile matches in the past. Most notable being the 2011 Cricket World Cup Final, in which India defeated Sri Lanka and became the first team to win a World Cup on home soil.

The stadium has different stands –

  • Sunil Gavaskar Stand
  • North Stand
  • Vijay Merchant Stand,
  • Sachin Tendulkar Stand,
  • MCA Pavilion,
  •  Vitthal Divecha Pavilion, and
  • Garware Pavilion.
  • Grand Stand

Wankhede is the home ground of Mumbai Indians team in IPL, as well as Mumbai’s Ranji Trophy team.

Historic Records@ Wankhede Stadium – Mumbai

  • The Stadium witnessed the last match of Sachin Tendulkar’s international career.
  • The Stadium also hosted the match in which Ravi Shastri hit six sixes in an over.
  • The highest score by an Indian at Wankhede remains Vinod Kambli’s 224 against England in 1992-93 in only his third Test. 
  • The highest score in a IPL match at Wankhede has been 235 by RCB posted against Mumbai Indians in 2015.

Wankhede Stadium – Pitch Report

The wicket at the Wankhede stadium offers help for both the pacers and spinners. The Stadium is situated close to the Arabian Sea and the wickets here help the swing bowlers considerably.

Wankhede Stadium organized 102 IPL matches of which first batting team won 48 matches and chasing team won 54 matches.

In IPL 2022 dew factor heavily affected the matches and the captains were opting to field first after winning the toss.

The pitch has traditionally been full of runs because of short boundaries and quick outfield which help the batsman to reach high scores. The venue provides great entertainment when it comes to T20 Cricket.

2023 TATA IPL T20 Matches Scheduled @Mumbai Wankhede Stadium

Match DayMatch#DayDateTimeHome TeamAway Team
912Sat03-04-20237:30PMMumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
1722Sun12-04-20233:30PMMumbai IndiansKolkata Knight Riders
2331Sat21-04-20237:30PMMumbai IndiansPunjab Kings
3142Sun30-04-20237:30PMMumbai IndiansRajasthan Royals
4054Tue06-05-20237:30PMMumbai IndiansRoyal Challengers Bangalore
4357Fri10-05-20237:30PMMumbai IndiansGujarat Titans
5269Sun14-05-20233:30PMMumbai IndiansSunrisers Hyderabad
2023 TATA IPL T20 matches schedules at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai Maharashtra

2023 TATA IPL T20 match schedule for the entire season is available here.

2023 TATA IPL T20 Matches Online Ticket sales

Here is the list of venues where The IPL T20 matches are held. The tickets are available at the stadium and online. Sharing the list of online partners where you can buy tickets online for the upcoming IPL matches.

TATA IPL 2023 TEAMSHome GroundTickets on
Chennai Super Kings (CSK)M. A. Chidambaram Stadium‎BookMyShow
Mumbai Indians (MI)Wankhede Stadium‎BookMyShow
Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)M Chinnaswamy StadiumTicketgenie
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Eden GardensBookMyShow
Sun Risers Hyderabad (SRH)Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket StadiumInsider.in
Delhi Capitals (DC)Feroz Shah Kotla GroundInsider.in
Punjab Kings (PBKS)PCA Stadium, MohaliInsider.in
Rajasthan Royals (RR)Sawai Mansingh StadiumBookMyShow
Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)BRSABV Ekana Cricket StadiumBookMyShow
Gujarat Titans (GT)The Narendra Modi StadiumBookMyShow
2023 TATA IPL T20 matches buy tickets online

You may also like to read

2023 TATA IPLT20 @M.A Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai –what teams can expect?

TATA IPL T20 – Squad Mumbai Indians 2023

2023 TATA IPL T20 – Team Chennai Super Kings

2023 TATA IPLT20 @M.Chinnaswamy Stadium Bangalore – what teams can expect? & more


Which Stand is Best at Wankhede Stadium?

Sunil Gavaskar Pavilion and Vitthal Divecha Stand right next to Sunil Gavaskar Pavilion gives you the best entertainment at a pocket-friendly price.

What is the lowest score at Wankhede in an IPL?

67 scored by KKR against MI in 2008 is the lowest score at Wankhede stadium

What is IPL groups A and B 2023?

2023 IPL T20 Group A teams – Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Lucknow supergiant and Delhi capitals.
2023 IPL T20 Group B teams – Royal Challengers Bangalore, Chennai Super Kings, Gujarat Titans, Punjab Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad.


Leave a Comment