2023 TATA IPLT20 @M.A Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai–what teams can expect?

Formerly known as Madras Cricket Club Ground or Chepauk Stadium, the stadium renamed as M.A.Chidambaram is the second oldest cricket ground in India after Eden Gardens in Kolkata. M.A.C. is the home ground for “#WhistlePodu” “Chennai Super Kings”  and Tamil Nadu Cricket Team. The stadium with a seating capacity of 38,000 is gearing up for action packed matches in the TATA IPL 2023 championship.

2023 TATA IPL T20 - MA Chidambaram Stadium and Chennai Super Kings matches, pitch report, historic records, tickets
2023 TATA IPL T20 – MA Chidambaram Stadium and Chennai Super Kings set entertain their fans

Historic Records@M.A Chidambaram Stadium – Chennai

  • Chepauk Stadium has the reputation of hosting the first-ever Ranji Trophy match.
  • The stadium played host to the second tied-Test in the history of Test cricket.
  • Rahul Dravid completed 10,000 test runs in Chepauk Stadium against South Africa and Dravid eventually made a 100 in that test innings as well.
  • In the same match, fans witnessed Virender Sehwag’s historic 319 which is the highest Test score on this ground.
  • Sachin Tendulkar has scored more runs in Chepauk than any other venue in India with 876 runs in 9 Tests at an average of 87.60
  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni was the first Indian Wicket-Keeper Batsman to score a Double Century in Test Cricket in the 1st test against Australia in the home series on 24 February 2013. 224 runs from his bat made him the 7th Wicket-Keeper in Test Cricket to do so.

M.A.Chidambaram Stadium – Pitch Report

The Pitch of Chidambaram Stadium, locally know as Chepauk stadium is normally dry & hard which breaks down as time passes. M.A.C. provides that extra zip and bounce of the wicket.

The toss is not so important on this pitch but the team winning the toss prefers to bat first and pile a huge score on the boards to put pressure on the opponent. Usually, in the Second Innings the wicket here becomes slow which makes it difficult for the team to chase for victory.

This ground has small boundaries thus in T20 matches hence crowd gets to see many sixes hit in this ground

2023 TATA IPL T20 Matches @Chennai M.A.C Stadium

Match DayMatch#DayDateTimeHome TeamAway Team
46Mon03-04-20237:30 PMChennai Super KingsLucknow Super Giants
1317Wed12-04-20237:30 PMChennai Super KingsRajasthan Royals
2229Fri21-04-20237:30 PMChennai Super KingsSunrisers Hyderabad
3141Sun30-04-20233:30 PMChennai Super KingsPunjab Kings
3749Sat06-05-20233:30 PMChennai Super KingsMumbai Indians
4155Wed10-05-20237:30 PMChennai Super KingsDelhi Capitals
4561Sun14-05-20237:30 PMChennai Super KingsKolkata Knight Riders
2023 TATA IPL T20 matches schedules at M.A Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai TamilNadu

IPL T20 Matches Online Ticket

The IPL T20 match tickets are available at the stadium and online. Here is the list where you can buy tickets online for the upcoming IPL matches.

TATA IPL 2023 TEAMSHome GroundTickets on
Chennai Super Kings (CSK)M. A. Chidambaram Stadium‎BookMyShow
Mumbai Indians (MI)Wankhede Stadium‎BookMyShow
Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)M Chinnaswamy StadiumTicketgenie
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Eden GardensBookMyShow
Sun Risers Hyderabad (SRH)Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket StadiumInsider.in
Delhi Capitals (DC)Feroz Shah Kotla GroundInsider.in
Punjab Kings (PBKS)PCA Stadium, MohaliInsider.in
Rajasthan Royals (RR)Sawai Mansingh StadiumBookMyShow
Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)BRSABV Ekana Cricket StadiumBookMyShow
Gujarat Titans (GT)The Narendra Modi StadiumBookMyShow
2023 TATA IPL T20 matches buy tickets online

You may also like

Tata IPL – Indian Premier League 2023 – All set to begin 

TATA IPL T20 – Squad Mumbai Indians 2023

2023 TATA IPLT20 @M.Chinnaswamy Stadium Bangalore – what teams can expect? & more


Which is the strength of CSK – batting or bowling?

Batting seems to be their pillar of support for CSK

Will CSK miss MS Dhoni?

CSK means MSD and it is hard for the fans and the team to replace him. B ut the team should put their best foot forward to bag one more win in the IPL win to equal with the 5 times IPL winner Mumbai Indians

Leave a Comment