2023 TATA IPL T20 – Punjab Kings Squad

2023 TATA IPL T20 – Punjab Kings Squad, franchise, history, IPL win, first match, captain,, PBKS twitter, home ground, game plan, Preity zinta, Kings XI Punjab

2023 TATA IPL T20 – Punjab Kings Squad, franchise, history, IPL win, first match, captain,, PBKS twitter, home ground, game plan, Preity zinta, Kings XI Punjab

A Warm welcome to everyone, today let us talk about another important IPL team in the league tournament, Punjab Kings (PBKS) formerly Kings XI Punjab.

About the Franchise:

Punjab Kings (PBKS), formerly called as Kings XI Punjab‘ is a franchise cricket team based out of Punjab. Along with other 8 teams, Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) also founded in the year 2008 as one of the core team of the IPL. Punjab Kings is jointly owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta and Karan Paul.

The Punjab Kings Squad plays its home matches at the beautiful PCA Stadium, Mohali. Off late, they also consider playing some of their home games at either Dharamshala or at Indore to catch the attention of the fans across India.

PBKS valuation:

As per reports the Punjab Kings franchise is valued around $900 million.

Termination of Kings XI Punjab:

The Indian Premier League on October 2010 announced that it had terminated the franchise contracts of Kings XI Punjab and the Rajasthan Royals. However, the franchise Kings XI Punjab was reinstated back to the IPL.

Kings XI Punjab name change to Punjab Kings

Kings XI Punjab was renamed to Punjab Kings ahead of the 2021 IPL season and in the mini auction held on 23 December 2022.

The team owners explained the reason for changing the franchise name was to “relook at things” and rebrand after 13 seasons of IPL. They also expressed concern over the franchise not able to clinch a title till now, hope prevails that they will start afresh this year.

Victory lap of PBKS:

The maximum position the franchise had topped the league table and finished Runners up was in the year 2014 IPL season. That is the one and only PBKS playoff appearance in the entire 15 seasons.

The Punjab Kings squad also played in the Champions League T20 once due to their Runners up in IPL in 2014.

Punjab Kings made the highest ever bid for a player in IPL history, paying a whopping Rs 18.50 crores for Sam Curran. They went all out to auction Sam Curran, the England All-rounder to strengthen the team’s prospect.

Similar to Delhi Capitals, even PBKS franchise is yet to show their full potential to win a Championship title, this IPL 2023 being a tough league tournament across the world, winning streak is very important for any team in the league and be positive.

Home ground: Inderjit Singh Bindra Stadium (also famously called as IS Bindra Stadium)

This famous IS Bindra Stadium is a beautiful stadium being managed by the Punjab Cricket Association (PCA), the stadium is located in the city of Mohali, Punjab. It is also popularly referred to as the Mohali Stadium. The stadium has a seating capacity of around 27,0000 and this stadium is home for both Punjab cricket team and Punjab Kings (IPL franchise). The stadium is named after former BCCI president & former PCA president Inderjit Singh Bindra.

The floodlights here are very unconventional compared to other cricket stadiums in the world, in this stadium the light pillars are very low in height. This is to avoid aircraft from the nearby Chandigarh airport colliding with the light pillars. That is the main reason behind the stadium having 16 floodlights across the stadium instead of giant 4 or 6 floodlight towers in other stadiums.

Punjab Kings squad Captaincy:

Punjab Kings always had an issue around the captaincy, the right man to captain the franchise is still a mystery for them. The Indian star batsman, Yuvaraj Singh was the first captain for the franchise. Very recently Shikhar Dhawan was made as Punjab Kings team Captain for 2023, the previous captain Mayank Agarwal was released by the Franchise.

The below players were captained so far:

  1. Yuvaraj Singh – 2008
  2. Kumar Sangakkara – 2009
  3. Mahela Jayawardene – 2010
  4. Adam Gilchrist – 2011 and 2012
  5. David Hussey – 2013
  6. George Bailey – 2014 and 2015
  7. David Miller, Murali Vijay – 2016
  8. Glen Maxwell – 2017
  9. Ravichandran Ashwin – 2018 and 2019
  10. K L Rahul – 2020 and 2021
  11. Mayank Agarwal – 2022

Despite changing the captains, the franchise was not able to go beyond the league matches except for the 2014 season. Some of the experts believe that it could be a strategy by the PBKS to start the tournament fresh under the new leadership.

2023 IPL Season and its expectations:

The players to watch out for this year is the captain himself Shikhar Dhawan, an explosive opening batsman; Liam Livingstone who had a fantastic tour last year especially during the first half of the season; Kagiso Rabada, South African quick had a very good stint as a bowler claiming 23 wickets;

Similar to other franchises, the PBKS has the potential match winners in this season however they all should come together to win the championship title.

IPL T20 2023 Punjab King’s First match:

Punjab Kings (PBKS) will play its first match in the IPL season 2023 against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on 1st  Apr 2023 at 3.30pm IST in the home ground of PBKS, IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali.

Tickets are available at https://insider.in/ipl-punjab-kings/article?utm_source=PunjabKings_Client&utm_medium=Generic&utm_campaign=PunjabKings_Client&utm_id=PunjabKings_Golive

IPL T20 PBKS’ Merchandise:

Punjab Kings have kept their colour code to Red and gold for a very long time. Fans can buy merchandise to support their favourite PBKS squad for this IPL 2023.

Social handles of Punjab Kings Squad:

The Punjab Kings twitter handle has always be trending with the latest news from the franchise and the squad.

Official website: https://www.punjabkingsipl.in/

Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/PunjabKingsIPL/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/punjabkingsipl/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/punjabkingsipl

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvRa1LWA_-aARq1AQMC4AyA

PBKS Shop: https://www.punjabkingsipl.in/shop

Tags: #SaddaPunjab

PBKS Latest News:

As per the information available from their official website, Sunil Joshi has been roped in as Spin Bowling Coach. Also, their England star wicket keeper batsman Sam Curran, who performed very well in the last year’s T20 world cup held in Australia to miss the entire season due to their upcoming Ashes series against Australia. This will be a Big blow for Punjab Kings!

But still, the new rule in IPL this season in the name of ‘Impact Player’ could bring more fortunes for the franchise.

In Summary, this year could be different for the PBKS Franchise under the new leadership of Shikhar Dhawan and Coach Trevor Bayliss. No Captain in the past were able to hold the team together to bring the best out of their potential. This year Coach’s responsibility will also be higher, hope for the best.

All the very best to PBKS for their fantastic season ahead and hope they will give a tough fight to other teams to get into playoffs first.

You may like to read:

TATA IPL T20 – Squad Mumbai Indians 2023

2023 TATA IPL T20 – Team Kolkata Knight Riders

2023 TATA IPL T20 – Team Chennai Super Kings

2023 TATA IPL T20 – Team Rajasthan Royals

TATA IPL T20 – Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore(RCB) 2023


who is the highest wicket taker in IPL for Punjab Kings?

Piyush Chawla holds the Record highest wicket taker. He took 84 Wickets In 87 Matches

Who is the highest run scorer in IPL for Punjab Kings?

Shaun Marsh Holds The Record for highest Runs – 2477 runs in 71 matches

What is the highest total posted in IPL for Punjab Kings?

232/2 scored against RCB in 2011 

Punjab Kings formerly known as Kings XI Punjab is partly owned by which Bollywood starlet?

Punjab Kings is partly owned by Bollywood Star Preity Zinta

Leave a Comment