Tata IPL – Indian Premier League 2023 – All set to begin!

Tata IPL – Indian Premier League 2023 – history of IPL, teams participating, IPL format, Winners, grand opening

Tata IPL - Indian Premier League 2023
2023 – Tata IPL Indian Premier League – history of IPL, teams participating, IPL format, Winners, grand opening

 A warm welcome to all of you!

Indian Premier League – IPL matches are one of the finest and the most popular sports not only in India but across the world. Since Tata IPL 2023 is around the corner and all the cricket fans are gearing up to watch the nail biting battles of their favorite teams in the action packed matches. 

History of Indian Premier League (IPL)

The IPL league was started in the year 2008 by BCCI. The IPL Men’s T20 tournament started right after India clinching the title of the 2007 T20 World Cup. During the inauguration season, the IPL started with 8 franchise’s viz., Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Deccan Chargers (DC), Delhi Daredevils (DD), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Mumbai Indians (MI), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

There are lots of tournaments happening across the globe, however IPL is one of the premier and most viewed tournament. ICC created a window for the IPL every year between April-May months.

Selection of Players in IPL Teams

The IPL tournament is an ICC event hence all the records setup by our players will be integrated as part of the ICC records. The players will be selected through full auction and mini auction every year.

Full Auction – All the players will go through the auction based on the team’s budget. Recently, the Full Auction was held in 2021 for the 2022 season post integration of two more new teams to the IPL tournament. The new teams were named as “Gujarat Titans” (GT) and “Lucknow Super Giants” (LSG).

Mini Auction – It happened in the year 2020 and this is an opportunity for all the franchises to refresh the IPL teams by releasing some non-performing players and add new talents to the pool. This helps the franchise to bring in more new energy to the team.

IPL Tournament Format

In IPL till 2021, each team competes with other teams twice which totals to 14 matches per team. This was changed in the year 2022 when 2 more teams were newly added to the event. From 2022, the matches were played in groups where each team will have to compete with the teams in the other group twice and once with the teams in the same group. This way, each team will have to play 14 matches and prove their potential. The top four teams will get into the next stage of the tournament.

Semifinals 1: The top team (Position #1) will compete with the next best performed team (Position #2) in the table, the team won will head directly to the finals.

Semifinals 2: The teams at (Position #3) and (Position #4) will compete each other and the team won will play with the team lose from the Semifinal 1

Eliminator: The team losing from Semifinals 1 and 2 will compete each other, the team won will head towards the Finals. The team losing will get eliminated from the tournament.

Championship: The team won from Semifinals 1 and from Eliminator will compete each other for the championship title.

Winners of IPL till 2022:

Here are the winners of the IPL from 2008 to 2022:

IPL Winners Table

Title Sponsors of IPL:

Many major brands have been the title sponsor for IPL in the various seasons:

  • DLF – 2008 to 2012
  • Pepsi – 2013 to 2015
  • Vivo IPL – 2016 to 2019
  • Dream11 – 2020
  • Vivo IPL – 2021

After that it has been the TATA’s

The IPL 2023 season starts on Mar 31, 2023, and the opening match is played between the last year winner Gujarat Titans and previous year winner Chennai Super Kings at NARENDRA MODI STADIUM, Ahmedabad at 7.30pm IST. All the cricket fans are set to watch and live is cricket gala event…

Leave a Comment