IPL 2023 New Rules – What You Need to Know for the Upcoming Season

IPL 2023 New Rules- Impact player, 2 different team sheet, DRS for wide and noballs, unfair fielder movement

IPL 2023- New Rules- Impact player, 2 different team sheet, DRS for wide and noballs, unfair fielder movement

IPL season brings in celebrations and enthusiasm among the fans and the board keeps the moment of the game by introducing new additions to the game. Last IPL season we saw the addition of 2 new teams Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans. For 2023 IPL season, BCCI has introduced 4 important rules to the game to make this tournament further competitive and more balanced opportunity for the teams to win.

Rule 1 – Impact Player:

Impact Player Rule in IPL 2023 season – the most talked about rule. This is going to be a trendsetter for the tournament simply because of the impact this is going to create for the teams.

  • Impact Player can be any player whether they are from domestic or overseas. However at any point in the match, only 4 overseas players can play in the Playing XI which means either they can chose a playing XI with 4 overseas players and have 5 domestic players in the impact player pool (or) they can start the innings with 3 overseas players and have overseas player’s in the impact player pool.
  • The team captain should carry Playing XI and 5 Impact Players during the toss.
  • Captain will nominate the Impact Player
  • Impact Player can be introduced during any time of the match, there is no restriction to the time line however once the impact player is used then he must continue to play for the rest of the match.
  • The Impact Player cannot act as a captain during the match at any circumstances.
  • In case of an injury to the impact player during the match, a substitute fielder is allowed to field in place of an injured player only if umpires are satisfied.
  • The substitute shall not bowl or act as captain.

Rule 2 – Captains to have 2 different team sheets:

In this IPL 2023 season, team captains will walk in with 2 different team sheets before handling their final playing 11 after the toss

Yes, you heard it right 😊. The captain can choose his team depending on the toss result, he will carry two teams with him; one team if choses to bat first and the other sheet if he is opted for bowling first.

For Example: If CSK wants to bat first and then defend a total on a pitch conducive for spin bowling, then Dhoni will be forced to bowl first based on the condition they can pick the playing XI with an extra spinner in the starting XI and then they can replace a specialist bowler with a batter (using the Impact Player rule) in the second innings to help with the run-chase.

Rule 3 – DRS for Wide & No-ball:

IPL 2023 will have two DRS for each innings. Captain of the side can take reviews for wides and no-balls in this season however this can be availed well within the two reviews allocated per side.

Rule 4 – Unfair movement of fielder:

In this season this rule will be very critical. Unfair movement of the wicketkeeper or any fielder will result in a dead ball and 5 penalty runs. A fielder or wicket keeper cannot move sideways once the bowler starts his run-up.

Rule 5 – Incoming batsman to take strike:

If the batsman is dismissed by a catch, irrespective of whether the batsmen have crossed or not the incoming batsman will take the strike, except if it’s the last ball of the over.

Let us grab the tickets for your favoutite matches

IPL T20 Matches Online Ticket booking

As the teams are gearing up for the matches let us grab our tickets to experience the elecrifying experience at the stadium. Tickets are available online and offline. Reserve your seats at the click of a button for the upcoming IPL matches.

TATA IPL 2023 TEAMSHome GroundTickets on
Chennai Super Kings (CSK)M. A. Chidambaram Stadium‎BookMyShow
Mumbai Indians (MI)Wankhede Stadium‎BookMyShow
Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)M Chinnaswamy StadiumTicketgenie
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Eden GardensBookMyShow
Sun Risers Hyderabad (SRH)Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket StadiumInsider.in
Delhi Capitals (DC)Feroz Shah Kotla GroundInsider.in
Punjab Kings (PBKS)PCA Stadium, MohaliInsider.in
Rajasthan Royals (RR)Sawai Mansingh StadiumBookMyShow
Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)BRSABV Ekana Cricket StadiumBookMyShow
Gujarat Titans (GT)The Narendra Modi StadiumBookMyShow
2023 TATA IPL T20 match tickets online sale

IPL has come a long way in these 15 years and the new rules challenges the strategic decisions of the captains. Every smart decision of the Captain are going to be game changers this season. Hope these new rules bring in more avenue of the emerging players and adds more thrill to the game lovers.

Wishing the teams All the Best!!! May the mighty win the battle!

You may also like to read:

TATA IPL T20 – Squad Mumbai Indians 2023

2023 TATA IPL T20 – Team Kolkata Knight Riders

2023 TATA IPL T20 – Team Chennai Super Kings

2023 TATA IPL T20 – Team Rajasthan Royals

TATA IPL T20 – Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore(RCB) 2023 & more

Leave a Comment